.

Crime Victim Dissatisfied with Police Performance

Have an opinion to express? Send your Letter to the Editor to natalie.davis@patch.com.

I am the victim of a robbery at my home in Parsippany. 

My issue is with the police and the mayor: I have tried many times to explain issues with the way my investigation was handled to no avail. 

I have called the mayor's office several times with no response.  I have written letters to the mayor, the chief of police, my congressman, the state's attorney general, my state senator and the Parsippany Town Council - again no response.

I filed a police internal investigation only to have the "wall of blue" close ranks and find in the department's favor. This did not surprise me, because I totally expected that they would not do the right thing.

The criminals were located within hours of the crime and handed to the police on a silver platter. One of them even confessed and fingered the other criminal at whose home he was found. Some of my property was found at the scene of the crime. The suspect was a repeat offender—having done jail time for robbing houses. Yet there was no search warrant requested. It seems the officers were interested in beginning their long weekend instead of investigating our crime and retrieving our property.

I want answers to my questions. 

When was a search warrant requested and who denied the request for the search warrant?  I am told I am entitled to this information, yet no one will respond to my repeated inquiries.

The brief response to the Internal Affairs investigation indicates negligence on behalf of the police: "The investigation and a view of all information concerning the allegation of neglect of duty indicates that the act or acts complained of did occur but were justified, lawful, and proper."

How can acts of neglect be justified?  

They refused to speak to my husband and told me that nothing he said would sway their opinion in the matter. How can they investigate a case without speaking to all concerned parties?

Police lied to us repeatedly.  The day after the burglary, a Friday, we called to see if officers had gone back to the house to search it.  We were told that no police work is done on Friday in the summer and no detectives were available. They told us to call back on Monday.  We also called on Saturday and were told the same thing: Call back on Monday. 

Apparently, the police think I should be happy that they finally searched the building where our stolen items were—more than two weeks later. Some of our things were found, but only easily replaceable, broken video equipment. The most valuable items were gone.

Subsequently, the police told me that the items probably were  there on the day of the robbery, but after the weekend, they said valuable items handed down in my family through the generations were "probably melted."  

How would any of you feel to know that you gifted a criminal five generations' worth of family heirlooms?  I doubt you would be so complacent! If I had known that nobody was going to search for my things, I would have gone there myself and gotten them back!

I was told that the police questioned my neighbors. That is a lie. I knocked on everyone's door that Saturday and people in the area said no one asked them anything. It is clear that the police did not question anyone, not my neighbors, not nearby community enterprises that were open.

Let's face facts. Parsippany has the worst police protection of any city I have ever heard of. I still can't believe that law-abiding citizens like us are treated to such shabby behavior; don't even ask me how rude the police detective was to us!

What's worse is that the police are congratulating themselves for a subsequent drug bust; shame on them all.

I get that drug busts make headlines and helping decent citizens retrieve their property does not.

I am begging someone to recognize that the proper process was not followed here. I have been taught that if people make mistakes, they should admit it and own up to it. What's happened to me will continue to happen in Parsippany unless the police and town administration do the right thing.  

Linda Janssen
Parsippany

A copy of this Letter to the Editor has been sent to Parsippany Police Chief Anthony DeZenzo and to Mayor James Barberio for comment. We await their response.

Parsippany Taxpayer November 19, 2012 at 02:29 AM
My neighbor indicated they were robbed three times since living here in Parsippany. You would think that the police would have a better handle of addressing these issues. If the case is hot they should be on it. We can pay 4 officers to stand at one gas station overtime to stand around and guide traffic during the self induced gas shortage but can't get them to stay on the case. Gotta love the system. I am still appalled at what a 5 year sergeant makes in this township $150K/year -- really? No wonder most of us are paying five figures in taxes. The more I am informed about this community the more I question whether this really is a great place to be.
Par4theCourse November 19, 2012 at 04:06 AM
Linda, have you reached out to the morris prosecutors office? It is my understanding they investigate burglaries. Your result however, doesn't surprise me and I sympathize for you. 7 homes were hit in the lake area last year and no arrests were made.
Denise November 20, 2012 at 11:25 PM
I was recently robbed as well, i live in the Sedgefield development in Parsippany, we gave the police make, model, color of car and license plate plus a good description of the three young men who were seen on my property and getting into the get away car. To date there horave been no arrest nor has the owner of the vehicle been questioned. I have not heard from the detective in weeks. I am appalled at the way our case is being handled, if it is being handled at all.
clyde donovan November 20, 2012 at 11:36 PM
If you people keep voting for the same people, nothing will change. I suggest you folks get handguns, rifles and shotguns. Then take a gun safety course, and go to a range on a regular basis to practice using your weapons.
gabrielle November 25, 2012 at 02:28 AM
How do you know who they vote for clyde? People's sense of safety in their own homes is being violated. Your comment is insensitive.
clyde donovan November 25, 2012 at 05:42 AM
Sorry, but you need to get smart and get armed. It's a dangerous world.
Sick of the trolls November 25, 2012 at 12:35 PM
You know "Clyde," the thought of you with a gun just scares the heck out of me. Is your real name George Zimmerman? I bet if it isn't, you think he's a real swell guy. Maybe you should just keep that gun in your pants and stay away from the kiddies for a while, ok?
clyde donovan November 25, 2012 at 02:50 PM
All law-abiding people should have carry permits. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/11/23/san-antonio-man-pulls-gun-on-line-cutting-sears-black-friday-shoppers_n_2177293.html
Natalie Davis (Editor) November 25, 2012 at 07:42 PM
How would that work for pacifists?
Sick of the trolls November 25, 2012 at 09:02 PM
http://www.latimes.com/news/nation/nationnow/la-na-nn-black-friday-walmart-shooting-20121123,0,5316248.story Are you sure you want to play that game, "Clyde"?
Linda November 27, 2012 at 02:08 PM
Yes, I reached out to the prosecutor's office and got the same run around. I want answers. If I hand the police the criminal within hours of the crime - who did they ask for a search warrant and who denied it? They refuse to answer my questions. The prosecutor's office asked the police chief to look into the matter - kind of like asking the cat to look after the canary! People in Parsippany need to take a stand and demand better protection. They knew exactly who robbed me because he was a repeat offender who lives in our town. They were interested in starting their long holiday weekend. They refused to watch the suspect's house because of lack of man power. Yet everyone can take off on a Friday in the detective bureau. Great way to run a business!! We got the sense that all they wanted to do was make a report. They even admitted that they don't often catch the criminals and this is "not CSI". Well, why isn't it like CSI? They catch the bad guys don't they? Maybe the Parsippany Police need to watch the show! The absolute neglect in this case appalls me. Appreciate your feedback and support.
Linda November 28, 2012 at 03:57 AM
Denise - I know exactly how you feel. It's time we went to the mayor and chief of police and demanded they do something. Why haven't they questioned the person who owns that car? Like I said, they are just good at filing reports. Good luck to you. Linda
Pete December 02, 2012 at 03:52 PM
"Pacifist" is not just a trendy label. It represents a serious commitment to non-violence. But it does NOT necessarily equal "Passivist", i.e. someone who does nothing in the face of violence. The Swiss are pacifists; but that doesn't prevent them from being ready to defend themselves -- and it's been a LONG time since anyone tried to invade Switzerland. While I'm fully in favor of people being able to exercise their Second Amendment rights, I also need to point out that, while having a gun, and knowing how to use it properly, will enable you to defend yourself in the event of a home invasion, most burglaries occur during the day, when nobody's at home. So having that gun freely accessible in your home will give the burglars one more thing to steal. So if you DO go through the hassle of getting a Firearms Card or pistol permit and getting yourself a gun, you also should get yourself a safe to keep it in when you're not home.
Natalie Davis (Editor) December 03, 2012 at 06:59 PM
Indeed, "pacifist" is not a trendy label. It is most serious, and to be pacifist is to be anything but cowardly. The word does not connote inaction, it communicates the principled repudiation of violent action.
Pete December 08, 2012 at 10:09 PM
Odd, that there's been no further comment on this -- especially from the Mayor or the Chief. ED.: Does the story have "legs" ??
Natalie Davis (Editor) December 08, 2012 at 10:43 PM
They opted not to respond to our questions. Business as usual.
Linda December 09, 2012 at 10:38 PM
Yes, I continue to follow up with phone calls and letters to the chief of police and the mayor. I wish they had the decency to return my calls - just once. How can they possibly lead a community when they refuse to answer to their constituency? I know the answer - they are afraid of the truth. Linda Janssen, victim of Parsippany's apathy
Linda December 17, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Voters of Parsippany, Do you want a mayor in office that refuses to speak to the people he serves? Election year is coming. Let this be a wake up call.
Mike December 17, 2012 at 02:58 AM
The mayor speaks to only the groups of people that will vote for him.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something